News Releases

Council Names 2016 L. B. Thomson Conservation Award Winner

January 4, 2017:


The Soil Conservation Council of Canada (SCCC) has announced that Mr. Adam Hayes is the 2016 winner of the L. B. Thomson Conservation Award. Mr. Hayes was presented with this honour by Alan Kruszel, Chair of the SCCC on January 4th at the SouthWest Agricultural Conference in Ridgetown, Ont.

"The L. B. Thomson Conservation Award is presented annually to recognize individuals, organizations, and others who have made outstanding contributions to improving soil and water conservation at the regional level in Canada," says Kruszel. "Adam is particularly deserving of this award as he has committed more than 30 years of his career to understanding soil health and conservation practices in Ontario."

Adam grew up in Peterborough, Ont. and completed his B.Sc. (Agr.) at the University of Guelph in 1984. After a brief period of private consulting Adam began his career in soil conservation with the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture and Food (OMAF) in 1985. Since then, Adam has spent his entire career better understanding soil health and conservation, and working with Ontario farmers to put superior management systems into practice to optimize production and sustainability. Adam has been called the epitome of a fine extension specialist. Now working for the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs, he is equally effective whether setting up a cover crop trial with production-oriented farmers, presenting tailgate talks on aggregate stability, or exploring soil secrets alongside university research scientists.

The L. B. Thomson Conservation Award is one of many honours bestowed upon Adam that reflect the vision, leadership and depth of knowledge that have made him a leader in soil conservation and health in Ontario.

Adam and his wife Stephanie have three children and live in Ridgetown, Ontario.

About the L. B. Thomson Award

The L. B. Thomson Conservation Award was established in 1987 by the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA) Alumni in honour of Leonard Baden Thomson, Director General of PFRA from 1948 to 1956. Under his leadership PFRA developed and promoted soil conservation practices that minimized the severe wind erosion that plagued the Prairies in the 1930s. Since 1987, this award has been bestowed on 23 individuals and conservation organizations that have continued to make significant contributions to soil conservation in Canada.

In 2016, responsibility for this award was entrusted to the SCCC. The "Council" is proud to continue this tradition.


Executive Director:
Jim Tokarchuk, , 204-792-2424